We practitioners, officers, students and scholars of international relations;

Recalling the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (1961) that all peoples of all nations from ancient times have recognized the status of diplomatic agents;

Reaffirming the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (1963) that consular relations have been established between peoples since ancient times;

Recognizing that the business of foreign relations is a profession in its own right;

Conscious of our responsibility to give back to our society the benefit of our exposure in international arena by way of sharing our experiences in the diplomatic field to the benefit of the Foreign Service in particular, and the nation at large;

Convinced that diplomacy must adapt to a complex and changing world;

Confident of our knowledge base as a pool from which the government can draw best practices and strategic policy options as opposed to guess work through interactions with our Association;

Guided by the need to fill the vacuum of non-existent, functional and credible policy think-tank on foreign relation;

Acknowledged that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is the citadel and pivot around which the business of foreign relation is conducted;

And have therefore proclaimed the Association of Foreign Relations Professionals of Nigeria (AFRPN) as our professional organization duly registered with the relevant and concerned authorities throughout the nooks and crannies of the entire federation of Nigeria.

Pending the national convention of the Association, the following Executives held the maiden meeting of the Association in Abuja where far reaching decisions were taken in preparation for the maiden convention:

Dr. (Amb) G A Lawal as interim President and Convener

Ambassador Sani Bala

Dr.  (Amb) Uche Gwam

Ambassador Ridhwan Mustapha as Interim Secretary

Amb. Adebola O. Ogutuga

Amb. Bature Lawal